Broward League of Cities Installs Mayor Tim Lonergan as 2018-2019 President

The Broward League of Cities, representing Broward County’s 31 municipal governments and more than 120 associate members, installed Mayor Tim Lonergan of Oakland Park as its new president, as well as the 2018-2019 executive committee and board of directors on May 19th at Margaritaville Beach Resort.

Mayor Tim Lonergan
Mayor Tim Lonergan

As the new president of the League, Lonergan shared his vision of “Engage One Broward,” emphasizing the importance for members to engage in identifying solutions for affordable housing, solid waste/recycling, hurricane readiness and recovery, transportation, and gun safety. He also highlighted the need to continue to defend home rule, the ability for cities to make local decisions on behalf of their residents. His focus will be on challenges impacting cities in Broward County and opportunities for improvement.

President Lonergan follows Commissioner Dan Daley as League president. Daley was recognized for his leadership of “Empowering One Broward,” which concentrated on League members living up to and exceeding their potential and empowering cities to be great places to live, work and raise a family.

President Lonergan joins fellow officers on the Executive Committee:

  • First Vice President – Mayor Daniel J. Stermer, City of Weston
  • Second Vice President – Commissioner Traci L. Callari, City of Hollywood
  • Secretary – Vice Mayor Beverly Williams, City of Lauderdale Lakes
  • Treasurer – Mayor Gary Resnick, City of Wilton Manors

Sponsors of the Annual Gala and Installation Dinner included:

Title Sponsor: FPL

Platinum Sponsors: City of Oakland Park; Margaritaville Beach Resort

Diamond Sponsors: Broward County; Calvin Giordano & Associates, Inc.; The Charter Schools of Excellence; City of Coconut Creek; City of Cooper City; City of Coral Springs; City of Fort Lauderdale; City of Hollywood; Memorial Healthcare System; City of Miramar; City of Pembroke Pines; City of Pompano Beach; City of Sunrise; Waste Management; Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman, P.L.; City of Weston



Chartered in 1957, the Broward League of Cities is a non-partisan, non-profit organization dedicated to raising awareness and resolving issues facing Broward County’s 31 municipalities. The organization’s membership is made up of elected officials from municipal governments as well as area businesses. The organization is dedicated to increasing awareness and providing resolutions to issues that affect day-to-day operations of local government, including legislation at the county, state, and federal levels.
For more information, visit

Picture of Author: Amanda Jones
Author: Amanda Jones

Amanda Jones specializes in social media marketing. She holds a Master's degree in Social Media Management from the University of Florida and a Social Media Professional Certificate from the University of Miami.


Join our mailing list to receive the latest news directly in your email inbox.